‘Creative People Are 1)… 2)…’ no No NO!

So, *inhale* Okay.

First things first (I’m a realist, guess the reference, if you get it, sorry), I love creativity, and creative people. I don’t disagree with that. It’s just this post on 9Gag that irritated me:

adpKzDM_700b

Rant Introduction: There are a number of reasons why I don’t necessarily agree with list. I would like to think I am a creative person, otherwise I wouldn’t be writing the content I am, or this blog. In fact, EVERYONE who has a blog or a website is creative so pat on the pack to you, readers, you’re creative. Back to my point, I think I’m a creative person so let’s go through the list in terms of ME:

1) Easily Bored

True, but that is for another reason I won’t go into right now. I do get easily bored but being so doesn’t mean you’re mind goes actively into a creative drive. Also, if I was easily bored with the creative work I did in art, that was essentially threatening the quality of my work. Having to start again because I was easily bored especially would have been deadly to my art exam. When it comes to my projects, I engage them as long as possible until there is no where to take it forward or there is no longer any point because no creative drive can be put into it. Some people might bet ‘easily bored’ interns of creative activity and want to engage in something, great. But this can be a problem from time to time. This is too vague in terms of what can bore someone and what people do in order to control, deal or combat their boredom.

2) Risk Takers

I’m not a risk taker in the extreme. I don’t actively want to jump off a cliff because that is a risk-taking activity especially. Again, vague. I am though a ‘risk-taker’ where I took the chance to write articles even though I was at the time pushing a boundary and thought ‘does anyone really care?’ I did it and I’m glad I did. But this wasn’t for me ‘taking a risk.’ Also, being a risk taker is fine, but I think occupations and careers involved in creativity or hold hold their own risks in their own shape and form. Everyone should push boundaries and that can take them forwardly creatively or not, but risk-taking is not a direct quality I find in anyone I know who are extremely creative people apart from being in/wanting a profession that initially lacks financial stability.

3) Colours Outside The Lines

I would like to think I do, but what does this really mean for individuals. In terms of a colouring book, I always wanted to keep in the lines, just because I did doesn’t mean it predicted my creativity thermostat would be set to low. I don’t know how much of that was metaphorical or not, but hopefully the drift has been caught. If it means pushing boundaries set, anyone can do that if they set their mind to it, but it doesn’t label anyone per-ce as a creative person. Almost every contemporary artist and anti-artist ‘colour outside the lines’ but in today’s modern age where an un-made bed is art (not dissing, promise), what does it take to be the one artist in the world that is truly creative because they have ‘coloured outside the lines?’ There are too many people like them to just it is only creative people who can do that.

4) Think With Their Heart

I think this goes without saying but EVERYONE IN THE WORLD SHOULD THINK WITH THEIR HEARTS, WE’RE HUMAN, NOT STUFFED ANIMALS! Saying this only applies to ‘creative people’ is just…No.

5) Makes Lots of Mistakes

See point 4. Not only that, but if someone accidentally got pregnant (opinions aside for this point), or repeatedly added salt to their tea and not sugar (don’t ask me how unless it was a cruel prank), or wrote ‘withe’ by mistake because they automatically go to ‘the’ when writing ‘th’ in ‘with,’ or keeps making the same mathematical mistake, does not automatically make someone a ‘creative person.’ Mistakes can lead to inspiration and/or creative drive, but sometime mistakes are just mistakes and not necessarily worth being called ‘creative’ because they just aren’t. Everyone makes mistakes, this isn’t an exclusive phenomenon.

6) Hate the Rules

Hate is such a strong word. Some rules are actually there in place for a reason. Someone hating a rule such as anything do to with crime and/or punishment (again, opinions aside about this, just using an example), does not mean ‘creative person.’ What is wrong with liking or in better word not hating the rules. And what ‘rules’ are they suggesting, the rues of previous creators that have been broken *cough cough i.e. impressionist, expressionists, pre-Raphaelites etc etc cough*? The rules as in the law (touchy ground so won’t go into too much detail about)? Unspoken social rules? What rules? Again, too vague to be taken literally and exclusively for ‘creative people.’

7) Work Independently

A lot of people sometimes work independently, but do they have to in order to be creative? Really. I made for me the most impressive and imaginative piece of work I have ever done at the time and that was a joint effort with a great friend of mine (I want to say best friend). So, because I didn’t work independently, had someone to bounce of ideas, share thoughts and develop an epic installation like this (my own photograph but I do have better ones),

_MG_4489

means in terms of the criteria we weren’t to be called ‘creative people?’ A stretch of an argument and yes, an irrational point, but extremes are sometimes used in order to make an argument despite its flaws. Just like now. Whoops… Although sometimes being a lone wolf with work can help with a creative process, but being in a team is just as effective, depend on who you are. Note: Matisse in his later life had assistants because he was ill, but still created ground-braking art in ‘drawing with scissors. His thoughts were independent in the process but the work wouldn’t be the same without people helping. Not being a lone wolf all the time is a great thing in nice doses. So is just being lone in your thoughts. If I worked independently in my writing such as the articles I had written for my college, I would have had just words on a page not making sense, we need other people to either confirm our thoughts or challenge them and make ourselves better. And this is again, not exclusive to creative people. Do we have to work independently to be creative?

8) Change Their Mind A Lot

Sometimes for me I keep changing my mind, sometimes I am firm with a decision and stick to the decision it’s the best decision. Changing your mind a lot isn’t exclusive to ‘creative people.’ Sometimes changing a mind leads to better ideas and projects and sometimes if you don’t, it doesn’t make you not a ‘creative person.’ Nuff said.

9) Have A Reputation For Being Eccentric

Really? Do they have to in order to be a ‘creative person?’ How can you judge eccentricity now? Mentally? Emotionally? Physically? What? You can be eccentric but have the creativity of a walnut (the first thing that came into my mind, walnuts can be if they want to, I’m not judging). You can be extremely creative but not look/appear/be (if possible) eccentric at all. Also, everyone is special and unique. Who the hell is normal now? Who? Therefore who can we tell is ‘eccentric’ when normality is not considered to be accepted in our everyday lives as an actual norm? I’m getting off-tangent into a paradox now but the argument is that being eccentric does not make you creative, nor is not being eccentric not make you creative. Finally,

10) Dream BIG

I think this is the only one that I can truly agree with really. The only criteria is any for anyone to be a creative person is to dream big, that means all the other things along with it are just extension and/or things that occur during the creative process or the journey to reaching that big dream. Doesn’t matter is the big dream is small to others, different goals with different ‘sizes’ matter to different people. Ambition leads to creativity, you aren’t born with it, you develop and grow with creativity if you allow yourself to think and/or dream big. This is the real argument of this post. You don’t need a criteria in order to be a creative person, you don’t need to re-assure yourself with a list that you are or are not creative or what level, be you and see how the journey goes. And note, ‘big’ is in capitals just to point out, not just big, but BIG, interpret it however you please, that’s creative (eh? eh? no? ok.)

Rant Conclusion (if any): Lists like these can apply to anyone and that is good and bad. It can be positive to reassure you are a creative person, but could lead to disheartening someone into thinking whether they are or should be creative. You don’t HAVE to be, but being creative is a beautiful mindset. You don’t need to tick all the boxes and everything mention has an extent with my opinion attached to it, so it carries a ‘not necessarily’ that should be considered when reading anything like this. I know it took a long ramble to get to this paragraph which, in Heinz sight, is all that matters in this post. But I think explaining it point by point can show why I wasn’t too happy to read this post, because it is things like that which can put people in boxes and labels which aren’t necessary.

Please give your arguments and opinions, I am okay with being told I’m wrong and get the discussion moving about creativity and being a ‘creative person.’ You won’t be able to see me cry behind a laptop screen (I kid). Did I say ‘creative’ enough in this post?

Leave a Reply

