A Blogger’s Identity

Hello Readers, I think is it is time for a rant just all about me now so strap in and fingers crossed it is somewhat coherent.

If you are actually keeping up with my blog posts and haven’t got bored from the lack of posts currently, well done. I am grateful even though this is early days and I sound quite narcissistic for even thinking that people are even going to read this or even care. As I have said in a previous post The Late Blogger, I go through moments when it is just nothing but blog ideas and things I could write about but struggle getting one complete. I have discovered another level for me to this: my website identity.

As I have said already, this is early days to even discuss this considering the one post I really want to get done by the end of the month seems to have a slippery goal with the amount of time I have spent doing other things, including other creative things. The problem has occurred when to get inspiration from other bogs and websites, I looked at all the blogs and websites I like. This includes art and books and writing, but it also included nail art and beauty (which in honesty only included lipsticks, skin care and nail colours because that is as far as my ‘beauty’ goes). Now, this was problematic for me because I thought that since this was my space to put what I want on, I include all my interests. Earlier in the month, I asked one my best friends (bad choice from the start because she is into beauty and nail-stuff) if I should do a page about my ‘beauty essentials,’ one like my Reading List (plug) I would update as I go along. I started the process and three products in, I was thinking, ‘Do I really need to do this?’ It was something I thought could be interesting and useful, but it was something I didn’t really have the same heart in. I go through craft blogs and jewellery making blogs and think ‘Why don’t I post some of he jewellery I make and any tips I have for beginners.’ But, as if I was having a moment of epiphany, I thought about how all the things I have just mentioned, are only extensions of me.

I adore going to craft and seeing all the handmade things but I haven’t dedicated my life to hand made things or even beauty. In other words, I didn’t identify that genre to lead directly to who I was as a person and where I wanted to take my life. It was like I imagined myself doing ceramics or fine art but fine art is a close-second passion of mine to writing, but I knew in my heart that English was what I truely wanted to do (with art being the hobby I might spend too much time on instead of studying).

I think because I was adding ideas such as ‘how to to use crimps,’ ‘my top nail colours,’ and tasks such as ‘take picture of latest necklace done,’ that…*sigh* I wasn’t necessarily lost but I realised that I didn’t want to be a beauty or craft blogger, I want those to be as they are in my life: only an extension to myself. I want my blog to be me, my brain written down, my key interests and thoughts I thought was interesting enough to share on the internet and only extensions to be known in random conversation. ‘Oh, you do jewellery making?’ Yes, I do. It doesn’t mean I don’t identify with it, but it isn’t the immediate thing I list as a key interest of mine.

I think it’s a bit early to pinhole my website, but for me I need to do that otherwise my website is going to be as cluttered as my head, it isn’t going to make much sense anymore and I question why I am even writing a post in the first place.

If you have read this post until the end, thank you. I think you have great will power. Again, I assume anyone is actually going to read this. Anyway, I want to see if my imaginary readers are real and see if they would like to comment their moments of questioning where their blog was going. Also as a bonus: thoughts about creative writing of my dreams and how I felt after having the dream? Yes? No? Readers, let me know you do read this and please reassure me this is actually a good idea.

01/08/15 update: Hello, I just also want to point to anyone confused about their identity when I was responding to a comment on this post: what makes you want to write? What seems the most effortless to write? What pattern is in your writing i.e. tone, style, content etc. And most importantly: why are you writing in the first place? Some people will read you work so think what do you want people to read that has your name on it? Why write at all? With this, I think the blogger’s identity will follow.

6 comments

  1. Shadrack Agaki · August 1, 2015

    OK you go a head, do what you think is right. I’m opinion your story and experience can only be told best by you. Cheers

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dmbandjaded · August 1, 2015

    Ah, I’m trying to find my blogging identity…I’ve started a finance blog (just barely) but have started a personal blog on WordPress to try to ooze out ideas and thoughts here that do no belong on my finance blog. Sometimes you just need to express yourself… Please, check out my blog if you have a minute: https://healthyhappybits.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • hrgovan · August 1, 2015

      Hello, I have read your posts and I am very pleased that you are giving it a go. I think you can only find your blogging identity when you create ideas for post, publish posts and then begin to see a pattern of what you write, what you enjoy writing about, what seems the most effortless to you and what you actually want people to read. Why are you writing in the first place and I think the identity will follow through. I hope this somehow helps. I am very much in the early stage of my blog but I am very glad that you took the time to respond to my post.

      Liked by 1 person

      • dmbandjaded · August 1, 2015

        Well said. I’m going to let things flow and see where they take me 🙂 Thanks for the read!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Til’ Next Year: July 2015 | by Hannah Rose Govan

Leave a Reply

